top of page

How I treated yoga injuries and ended up teaching yoga teachers to prevent them

5 years ago, while I was working as an osteopath in a yogic community in Thailand, one of my patients phoned me. I could hear tears of fear in her voice: “I am lying here in the yoga hall… I can’t move. Can you come see me? I did a headstand and now I can’t move my back…”

Hearing her voice break, I hurried over to her yoga class. I still remember how I felt a rush of horror seeing her situation. It took two hours of treatment for her to be able to move again.

I have seen so many yogis get injured but this time I was truly shaken. She was in serious danger and I felt it was time for me to take some action. I thought to myself: “If I can prevent some of these injuries, then I should. “After all, I have the knowledge and experience both as an osteopath and as a yoga teacher.”

That’s how the Yoga, Anatomy & Alignment Course was born. Since then, I have taught many yoga teachers from around the world – helping them prevent injuries in their classes as well as their own personal practices.

It is a great gift for me knowing this course gives yoga teachers confidence in their ability to practice and also teach yoga safely.

I am really touched to see that even after years of practice that during the course many yoga teachers get more intimate with their bodies, discover their own muscular imbalances and learn how to work on them.

I especially love these “A-HA!” moments in which my students understand how a certain posture can feel when they hold it in a way that is correct for their body. I’m very excited for the upcoming courses of Yoga, Anatomy & Alignment.

FOR MORE INFO CONTACT US IN OSTEOPATHY.YOGA@GMAIL.COM


Recent Posts

About Oren 
yoga and osteopathy

Oren Dotan, D.O, is an experienced osteopath specializing in yoga injuries. Being a dedicated yogi for over 15 years, Oren has lived in yogic communities and treated hundreds of cases of yoga injuries.

 

Throughout the years, he has developed a deep understanding as to why yoga injuries happen and how to prevent them. In this course, he integrates his vast anatomical knowledge with his diverse clinical and yogic experience, passing this precious combination onto yoga teachers who want to take their skills to the next level.

 

Check out this segment from the from the BBC reality show, The Retreat, in which Oren treats patients with various health issues:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When he is not teaching and practicing yoga, Oren also teaches osteopathy worldwide and at the Israeli Institute of Osteopathy.
 


"Ask any physical practitioner that treats yogis and you will hear the same thing: People get injured in yoga – a lot. As an osteopath who has lived in yogic communities in Thailand and India for the last 8 years, I have treated hundreds of patients that suffered from yoga injuries. It’s very sad to see how experienced yogis and even yoga teachers, don’t know enough about their own bodies to keep themselves safe. I have created Yoga, Anatomy & Alignment Course with a wish to help this change"

                                              - Oren Dotan

bottom of page